Thursday, October 16, 2014

All Souls Trilogy box set giveaway!!!!

The All Souls Trilogy box set is going on sale on October 30! The box set includes hardcover of all three volumes (The Discovery of Witches, Shadow of Night, and The Book of Life) as well as a limited edition of Diana’s Commonplace Book. To celebrate its release, Deborah Harkness is hosting a giveaway of the box set on her Facebook page. US Residents may enter the contest until Halloween.



Here is the link! Make sure to enter!!!

http://app.snapapp.com/AllSoulsBoxedSet

Tuesday, October 14, 2014

Spotlight of Four Wishes of Christine Nolfi

Publish Date:  September 12, 2014 by CreateSpace
Book Description:

Meade Williams has a successful company, an ailing father—and a secret desire to find love at last. Dr. Mary Chance isn’t sure the time is right to expand her family. Birdie Kaminsky has married the man of her dreams, but yearns to grow closer to her powerful sister. And young Glade Wilson must confront the daunting truth that she’ll become a mother before finishing high school.

Welcome to Book Four of The Liberty Series, where the heartwarming stories of love, friendship and family life unfold in surprising ways.

The books of The Liberty Series serve as stand-alone novels you may enjoy in any order. Look for the other books in the series: Treasure Me, Second Chance Grill and The Impossible Wish. Future releases coming soon.

What others are saying about Four Wishes...
"I couldn't put it down."
"Rich and superbly crafted"
"I really loved this book!"


Links:
Amazon USA: http://goo.gl/hVWChk   |   Barnes & Noble: http://goo.gl/0JbPUm   |   iTunes: http://goo.gl/QfllEs   |   Kobo: http://goo.gl/0sXZQV


Award-winning author Christine Nolfi provides readers with heartwarming and inspiring fiction. Her 2011 debut Treasure Me is a Next Generation Indie Awards finalist. The Midwest Book Review lists her novels as “highly recommended” and her books have enjoyed bestseller status. She has also written the manual for writers Reviews Sell Books. Chat with her on Twitter at @christinenolfi or visit her at www.christinenolfi.com.

Monday, October 13, 2014

Spotlight: THE LEGEND OF SLEEPY HOLLOW AND OTHER STORIES + Giveaway


The timeless collection that introduced Rip Van Winkle, Ichabod Crane, and the Headless Horseman


Perhaps the marker of a true mythos is when the stories themselves overshadow their creator. Originally published under a pseudonym as The Sketch Book of Geoffrey Crayon, Gent., The Legend of Sleepy Hollow and Other Stories gave America its own haunted mythology. This collection of larger-than-life tales contains Washington Irving’s best-known literary inventions—Ichabod Crane, the Headless Horseman, and Rip Van Winkle—that continue to capture our imaginations today.

ABOUT THE AUTHORS:
WASHINGTON IRVING (1783–1859) is generally credited with being the father of the American short story and was the first American writer to achieve international renown. He debuted in 1802 with a series of observational letters to the Morning Chronicle, and is best known for his short stories Rip Van Winkle (1819) and The Legend of Sleepy Hollow.  He has written several historical works covering figures such as George Washington and Christopher Columbus.

ELIZABETH L. BRADLEY, the author of Knickerbocker: The Myth Behind New York, serves as literary consultant to Historic Hudson Valley, the caretakers of Sunnyside—Irving’s Tarrytown, New York, home. She also wrote the introduction and notes for the Penguin Classics edition of Irving’s A History of New York.




Thursday, October 9, 2014

Romancing My Love by Melissa Foster and GIVEAWAY


NEWLY RELEASED........
Book #9 The Bradens, Love in Bloom Series #18

After months of caring for her terminally ill mother, Rebecca Rivera is left all alone in a world she doesn’t trust—but she’s determined not to let her mother’s death define her. Losing her job, having to pummel some jerk for being too handsy, and living in her car are just temporary setbacks to an otherwise solid plan in finding her footing. Full of pride and used to being in control of her life, she’s certain she can make it on her own. The last thing Rebecca needs is a man to fix her troubles—even if that man is strikingly handsome, wealthy, and charismatic Pierce Braden.

Pierce is a powerful real estate investor on the verge of a major acquisition. As the eldest of six siblings raised by a single mother, he’s spent his life protecting those he loves. He’s used to being in charge and making things right, and although he’d give his life for his family, he treats the women he dates as expendable—until he meets sexy and stubborn Rebecca Rivera, a woman who is as strong as she is vulnerable.

Passion ignites between them, and the two share their most intimate thoughts and desires. It doesn’t take long for Pierce to realize that Rebecca is as determined not to be saved as he is to find a way into her heart. As their love grows, Rebecca must face fears she didn’t even realize she had—and Pierce must learn the hard truth that sometimes less really is more. Is the power of true love enough for Rebecca and Pierce to learn to give up control and allow their hearts to take over?

My Thoughts…

Whenever Melissa Foster starts writing about the Bradens I just sigh.     Every single one of the Braden men are steamy hot, respectful, and loving.  Pierce is no exception.  Not only is he incredibly rich, but he is modest.  He knows that he has money and can buy pretty much everything, but he does not brag or throw it in Rebecca’s face.    He wants to use it to make her life better, yet understands that she needs to be strong for herself.    The love he has for Rebecca shows what a great guy he truly is.  He is the type of guy every mom wants for her daughter and that every woman dreams of meeting. 

Rebecca is strong; so incredibly strong that I was in awe of her.   Not only did she take care of her mom and give up her own life, she did so while dealing with not having any money and knowing that her mother would not live.    I loved how she turned Pierce down for his request for a date at first and then finally gave in after her pursued her a little longer.    I also loved how she knew she could open her heart to him and let him into her life and her heart.   She shared things with him that she had never shared before and knew that he would treasure her secrets and keep them safe.  


Everyone dreams of finding a love like Rebecca and Pierce.   Romancing My Love is the perfect story to open your heart and let true love in.   Of course, I recommend this entire series and this book to every romance lover.  

THE BRADEN COUSINS are the newest addition to the LOVE IN BLOOM series, this is the third of six books.

**CONTENT WARNING: Due to mature content, recommended for readers aged 18+**

Buy the book from...... 

About the Author
Melissa Foster is a New York Times & USA Today bestselling and award-winning author. She writes contemporary romance, new adult romance, LGBT romance, contemporary women's fiction, romantic suspense, thrillers, and historical fiction with emotionally compelling characters that stay with you long after you turn the last page. Some say her romance novels are lovingly erotic, she deems them simply loving and real. Her books have been recommended by USA Today's book blog, Hagerstown Magazine, The Patriot, and several other print venues. She is the founder of the Women's Nest, a social and support community for women, the World Literary Cafe. When she's not writing, Melissa helps authors navigate the publishing industry through her author training programs on Fostering Success.

Melissa hosts an annual Aspiring Authors contest for children, she's written for Calgary's Child Magazine and Women Business Owners Magazine, and has painted and donated several murals to The Hospital for Sick Children in Washington, DC. Melissa's interests include her family, reading, writing, painting, friends, helping others see the positive side of life, and visiting Cape Cod.

Melissa is available to chat with book clubs and welcomes comments and emails from her readers. Visit Melissa on The Women's Nest or her personal website.

Follow the Author
Facebook   Twitter    Google+   Goodreads   Pinterest 


NOW FOR THE AUTHOR'S GIVEAWAY !!



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Waking Up Joy by Tina Ann Forkner

Publication Date:  October 8, 2014 by Tule Publishing Group

When adored town spinster Joy Talley ends up in a coma after a peculiar accident, she is surprised and incensed to hear what is being said in her hospital room, including plans for her funeral. When she finally wakes, her well-­‐meaning, but bossy, brothers and sisters dismiss her claims, thinking her accident has knocked her off her rocker, but Joy has never felt better, and is determined to set the past right.

Now Joy must face her darkest secret and risk reopening wounds caused by an old flame who rejected her more than twenty years ago. But taking risks brings change, as well as a new, younger man into Joy’s life, making her feel like a teenager again. Suddenly Joy’s once humdrum life is anything but boring and routine and the future beckons, exhilarating and bright.

My Thoughts…

You always hear that when a person is in a coma they can still hear you talk.  Joy is proof that this is true, at least in her case.    It seemed like Joy was able to eaves drop on her family.   It was interesting to hear what her family and friends said about her and her life when they thought she could not hear them.   I loved that when Joy “woke up” from the coma she called them out on what they said.   It was sad that some of them denied it and thought she was crazy, when they should have been honest and supported her. 

The relationships between Joy and her family and Joy and Doc and Jimmy were incredible.   The sparks between Joy and Doc and Jimmy were steamy, yet understandable.   A cute younger doctor showing interest in a 40 something woman after meeting her crazy family would make anyone blush.    The history between Jimmy and Joy was mixed and definitely needed some figuring out, but the sparks and attraction were obvious from the beginning.    The relationship with her family was interesting.   There were times I wish she would have told her family to leave her alone, but I was glad that they were there to support her in their mixed up way.  


Waking Up Joy is not a book for everyone.  It is a book for a chic-lit reader and someone looking for a heart tugging story.    I enjoyed this book and certainly can recommend it to my friends. 

Book Link
Author Links
Facebook   |   Pinterest   |   Twitter

Monday, October 6, 2014

The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain


In The Silent Sister, Riley MacPherson has spent her entire life believing that her older sister Lisa committed suicide as a teenager.  Now, over twenty years later, her father has passed away and she's in New Bern, North Carolina cleaning out his house when she finds evidence to the contrary.  Lisa is alive.  Alive and living under a new identity.  But why exactly was she on the run all those years ago, and what secrets are being kept now?  As Riley works to uncover the truth, her discoveries will put into question everything she thought she knew about her family.  Riley must decide what the past means for her present, and what she will do with her newfound reality, in this engrossing mystery from international bestselling author Diane Chamberlain.

My thoughts...

This is the second book by Diane Chamberlain I've read and I can say her books keep me wanting to read more! The Silent Sister really made me think what would I do in the case of Riley. She is in so many ways left alone to deal with her father's estate. Her brother has metal and emotional issues from his time in service, as well as from his childhood.  She has Jeannie, an old family friend, and her daughter Christine who seem to fly in from out of nowhere and take over the tearing apart of Riley's father's home. I'll be honest when I say I did not trust those two for one minute! Nor did I like them! I mean did they not get she JUST lost her dad! They infuriated me!You'll have to read to see if I was right or not!

Actually, the whole book is filled with people I didn't trust! It was as if everyone was in one this big secret except Riley. It was maddening! I constantly felt like I was waiting for the second shoe to drop in the story. I can't say I was surprised by the overall story that came out...many things I kind of guessed. However, there were a number of things I was surprised about! Things would go in this direction when I wouldn't expect them too. Even though I thought I knew how it may end I could never be sure of anything! I was completely absorbed by the story! Not to be missed--I'm recommending THE SILENT SISTER!

 Follow Diane Chamberlain