Thursday, July 2, 2015

Saving Grace by Jane Green now in paperback!

Grace and Ted Chapman are widely regarded as the perfect literary power couple. Ted is a successful novelist and Grace, his wife of twenty years, is beautiful, stylish, carefree, and a wonderful homemaker. But what no one sees, what is churning under the surface, is Ted’s rages. His mood swings. And the precarious house of cards that their lifestyle is built upon. When Ted’s longtime assistant and mainstay leaves, the house of cards begins to crumble and Grace, with dark secrets in her past, is most vulnerable. She finds herself in need of help but with no one to turn to…until the perfect new assistant shows up out of the blue.  To the rescue comes Beth, a competent young woman who can handle Ted and has the calm efficiency to weather the storms that threaten to engulf the Chapman household. Soon, though, it’s clear to Grace that Beth might be too good to be true. This new interloper might be the biggest threat of all, one that could cost Grace her marriage, her reputation, and even her sanity.  With everything at stake and no one to confide in, Grace must find a way to save herself before it is too late.

Powerful and riveting, Saving Grace will have you on the edge of your seat as you follow Grace on her harrowing journey to rock bottom and back.

My thoughts...there is a reason Jane Green has published so many books, she is fantastic. Saving Grace is an I can't put this book down kinda novel! I really liked Grace. At first, I wasn't sure what to make of her relationship to Ted...I was on the edge of my seat waiting to see where it would lead. Then we meet the new assistant and I never trusted her, but Grace really wasn't a fool--but then the story just explodes in a way I really wasn't expecting. Wow. I mean wow. I was really proud of the leaps Grace went through and how wonderfully Green pulled everything together. Nothing felt rushed, Grace always seemed true to who she was. I would love to mention another character who I totally loved, but that would be a spoiler! I will also mention Green brings about a discussion of medication in this novel that should be a discussion we should be having in our society.

I believe the books description really gives you a good idea of what the novel is about, so I am really just letting you know this was a great read. I highly recommend Saving Grace.

Follow Jane Green


Wednesday, July 1, 2015

It's You by Jane Porter


From the USA Today bestselling author of the Brennan Sisters novels comes a heartwarming story about finding love and strength, even in the darkest moments…


In the wake of a tragedy that tore her life down to the foundations, Dr. Alison McAdams has lost her way. So when she’s summoned to Napa to care for her ailing father, she’s not sure she has anything to offer him—or anyone else.

What Ali finds in Northern California wine country is a gift—an opportunity to rest, and distance from her painful memories. Most unexpectedly, she finds people who aren’t afraid of her grief or desperate for her to hurry up and move on.

As Ali becomes part of her father’s community, makes new friends of her own, and hears the stories of a generation who survived the Second World War, she begins to find hope again. In a quest to discover the truth about another woman’s lost love, she sets off on a journey across oceans and deep into history. And in making sense of that long-ago tragedy, Ali is able to put together the broken pieces of her heart and make new choices that are right for her.


My thoughts...I am an absolute fan of Jane Porter and IT'S YOU is just one more reason why. Dr. Alison McAdams was one of those characters I was automatically drawn to. Life has hurt Ali. She is broken inside, she wants to be better, but at the same time she knows her pain is what reminds her how not to get hurt again. How do you heal after the loss she has gone through? How do you get past it? In Napa, she finds a sort of peace. She is surrounded by her mother's home and her fathers presence. It is through some of her fathers new friends where Ali learns there are many pains and losses in the world. There is a way to heal and not forget. 

Porter writes with such heart. I felt Ali's pain. I felt Ali's anger. I could feel the struggle she was going through--would living mean forgetting? Even the relationship with her dad connected me to Ali. Their relationship was far from perfect, not too good not to bad. Ali seems to be trying to move forward, but how do you do that after you've been through such devastation? It is only through another woman's story where Ali can begin to find the courage to live again. 

A honest portrayal of love and loss. Once I got into the first chapter or two the story just moved right along at a really good pace. If you've read Porter's Brennan Sisters series you will be thrilled to learn Dark Horse Winery is a destination in IT'S YOU! I really enjoyed Porters newest novel and I loved reading about a part of history rarely spoken about. I'm a huge fan of dual storylines (past/present), so I really enjoyed the second storyline. It never took over from Ali's story and was a perfect amount to make you feel the connection Ali felt. If you are looking for an enjoyable book for the holiday weekend I saw grab a copy of IT'S YOU by Jane Porter!




It's You by Jane Porter 
Follow Jane Porter 













As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC), product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review. The books I review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to me by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice. I never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are my own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Monday, June 15, 2015

Eight Hundred Grapes: A Novel by Laura Dave + a chance to win a visit from Laura!


There are secrets you share, and secrets you hide…

Growing up on her family’s Sonoma vineyard, Georgia Ford learned some important secrets. The secret number of grapes it takes to make a bottle of wine: eight hundred. The secret ingredient in her mother’s lasagna: chocolate. The secret behind ending a fight: hold hands.

But just a week before her wedding, thirty-year-old Georgia discovers her beloved fiancé has been keeping a secret so explosive, it will change their lives forever.

Georgia does what she’s always done: she returns to the family vineyard, expecting the comfort of her long-married parents, and her brothers, and everything familiar. But it turns out her fiancĂ© is not the only one who’s been keeping secrets…

I can't wait to start reading Laura's newest novel! Here are a few fun things to check out from Laura Dave and Simon & Schulster to enhance EIGHT HUNDRED GRAPES!

Nothing goes better with a good book than a glass of wine! What wine would go best with Laura Dave's new novel Eight Hundred Grapes? Check out the selected trio of classic
Sonoma wines to enhance the reading experience.


*******Simon & Schuster have a sweepstakes with a chance to win a visit from Laura herself, as well as a gift card to Harry & David (Laura will visit 1 book club in NYC—Manhattan and Brooklyn only—1 book club in Los Angeles, and will Skype with 1 book club located anywhere in the U.S.)!  To enter, you must post a message on Twitter about EIGHT HUNDRED GRAPES using the hashtags #EightHundredGraps and #entry, and fill out the sweepstakes form.



Video of Laura Dave reveals to secret to the Ford family’s legendary lasagna




Laura Dave is the author of the critically acclaimed novels The First Husband, The Divorce Party, London Is The Best City In America, and the forthcoming Eight Hundred Grapes. Dave’s fiction and essays have been published in The New York Times, ESPN, Redbook, Glamour and Ladies Home Journal.

Dubbed “a wry observer of modern love” (USA Today), Dave has appeared on CBS’s The Early Show, Fox News Channel’s Fox & Friends and NPR’s All Things Considered.  Cosmopolitan
Magazine recently named her a “Fun and Fearless Phenom of the Year.”

Three of her novels have been optioned for the big screen with Dave adapting Eight Hundred Grapes for Fox2000.


Friday, June 12, 2015

The Seven Sisters by Lucinda Riley


Publication Date: May 5, 2015
Atria Books
Formats: eBook, Hardcover
Pages: 480

Series: Book One, The Seven Sisters
Genre: Historical Fiction

Internationally bestselling author Lucinda Riley returns with THE SEVEN SISTERS, the first novel in a spellbinding new series (seven books in all) inspired by the ancient myth of the Seven Sisters of Pleiades. THE SEVEN SISTERS takes readers from the shores of Lake Geneva to modern day Rio de Janeiro to bohemian Paris of the 1920s in a sweeping saga of passion, sacrifice, and the enduring power of art.

Upon the death of their wealthy, enigmatic father, Maia D’Apliese and her sisters convene at their family home, a secluded estate on the shores of Lake Geneva. Each of the sisters had been adopted at birth from a different part of the globe. Maia, the eldest, is the first to learn of their adoptive father’s death. Confusion is added to her grief when the sisters — Maia, the beauty; Ally, the leader; Star, the peacemaker; CeCe, the pragmatist; Tiggy, the nurturer; and Electra, the fireball – gather to hear the reading of the will. Their father has left each of his daughters a simple clue about her birthplace.

Until now, Maia has constructed her life so that she does not have to leave the safety of the family nest. But spurred by her father’s final bequest, Maia embarks on a journey to Rio de Janeiro to discover the truth of her origins. In Rio, Maia is accompanied by Floriano Quintelas, a novelist and amateur historian, who is intrigued to discover that Maia is apparently descended from the Aires Cabrals, an aristocratic Portuguese family who have been prominent in the country for the past two centuries. Together, they delve into her complex family history, a quest that is helped by their discovery of the crumbling mansion where an elderly woman – Maia’s biological grandmother — is on the verge of death. When the old woman’s caretaker secretly slips Maia a stack of old letters, an astonishing family history unfolds.

My thoughts... L O V E D  I T!  I'll be honest and say I really wasn't sure what to expect when I read how the book was inspired by the myth of the Seven Sisters of Pleiades, but then I read the rest of the books description and thought it does sound good. Well it is very very good! The main character in this book is Maia, now she is kind of an odd character as she basically still lives at home and doesn't seem to truely be living life more like hiding from it. For me, I didn't really connect on some levels with her at first. I mean I liked her well enough, but once she takes flight from her beloved home in Lake Geneva and heads to Rio she begins to grow wings. It's once she is in Rio Lucinda Riley puts forth Izabela's story.

Now Izabela's story had me. I mean I could barely put the book down and when I did I was surprised by how much I had read! I was completely smitten with Izabela, she is beautiful and a devoted daughter. For me, it is her story that steals the show. However, as Maia also gets to read Izabela's story Maia grows. It is like new life is breathed into her and before I knew it I couldn't put down the novel while reading Maia's story either.

Oh and a big surprise that took me completely off guard, as well as a few teasers for the next book. I can't wait to read! Oh and there are a couple of side mentions in the story that I am pretty sure will come back into the story, I can not wait to find out! Oh and you get to know a little about all the sisters, so I am so excited to get to know each of them even more. I was hooked on THE SEVEN SISTERS and I am ready for book two! I absolutely LOVED this book and am highly recommending you add it to your must read summer books!

Praise for The Seven Sisters

“A brilliant page-turner, soaked in glamour and romance.” -The Daily Mail
“Riley launches her most ambitious andexciting writing project to date……a labyrinth of seductive time-switchstories, the enchanting brand of novel writing which has made Riley one of thebest women’s fiction authors on the market… An epic start to an epic series.” -The Lancashire Evening Post

Buy The Seven Sisters 

About the Author

Lucinda Riley was born in Ireland and during her childhood travelled extensively abroad, particularly to the Far East to visit her father.
Moving to London she became an actress working in film, theatre and television. Five years ago she designed and built a house on the island of Koh Chang in Thailand, where her father had purchased land many years before. Her passion for history combined with her love of travel, and Thailand in particular, inspired her to write her novel Hothouse Flower, published by Penguin in November 2010.
She currently lives in Norfolk and France with her husband and four children.
For more information please visit Lucinda’s website. You can also find her on FacebookTwitterYouTube, and Goodreads.


More Titles from Lucinda Riley

The Orchid House
The Lavender Garden
Girl on the Cliff
The Italian Girl
The Midnight Rose



The Seven Sisters Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, June 1
Review & Giveaway at Peeking Between the Pages
Spotlight & Giveaway at A Novel Review
Tuesday, June 2
Spotlight at Let them Read Books
Wednesday, June 3
Review at Always With a Book
Review & Giveaway at 100 Pages a Day
Thursday, June 4
Review at Book Nerd
Review at The Lit Bitch
Saturday, June 6
Interview & Giveaway at Bibliophilia, Please
Sunday, June 7
Spotlight & Giveaway at Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus More
Monday, June 8
Tuesday, June 9
Wednesday, June 10
Spotlight & Giveaway at Passages to the Past
Thursday, June 11
Friday, June 12
Review at A Novel Review
Spotlight & Giveaway at To Read, or Not to Read



















As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC), product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review. The books I review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to me by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice. I never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are my own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

Thursday, June 4, 2015

Spotlight: Those Secrets We Keep by Emily Liebert

From the author of  You Knew Me When  and  When We Fall

Three women. Three lives. Three secrets.

On the surface, Sloane has the perfect life—an adoring husband, a precocious daughter, and enough financial security to be a stay-at-home mom. Still, she can’t help but feel as though something—or someone—is missing....

Hillary has a successful career and a solid marriage. The only problem is her inability to conceive. And there’s a very specific reason why....

As the wild-child daughter of old family money, Georgina has never had to accept responsibility for anything. So when she realizes an unexpected life change could tie her down forever, she does exactly what she’s always done: escape.

When these three women unite for a three-week-long summer vacation in beautiful Lake George, New York, even with the idyllic location as their backdrop, the tensions begin to mount. And they quickly discover that no secret can be kept forever...

I will be reviewing this book soon and I can't wait to start reading it! 

Click here to read the first chapter of Those Secrets We Keep



Buy your copy of Those Secrets We Keep by Emily Liebert

About Emily Liebert 

Emily Liebert is an award-winning author and TV personality. Her new novel, Those Secrets We Keep, published on June 2, 2015. 


She's currently putting the final touches on her fifth book, Some Women, set to release on April 5, 2016.

Emily's first book, Facebook Fairytales, is available across the globe. Her debut novel, You Knew Me When (Penguin), published on 9/3/13 to rave reviews! And her second novel, When We Fall (Penguin Random House), published on September 2, 2014! 

Emily is featured often in the press, by outlets such as: Today Show, The Rachael Ray Show, Anderson Cooper, FOX News, Good Day New York, The Couch, Oprah Radio, Martha Stewart Radio, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, InStyle, OK!, Nylon, Ladies’ Home Journal, Woman’s World, WWD, Woman’s Day, The New York Post, The Washington Post, The New York Daily News, The Chicago Tribune, Boston Herald, and The Huffington Post.


She has also served as a spokesperson for Microsoft, appearing on TV and radio stations nationwide. 


Follow Emily Liebert




FTC Disclaimer
As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC), product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review.

The books we review on this site (A NOVEL REVIEW) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice. We never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.